Gone But Not Forgotten: The Sweetheart Tea Room

Alice Brown opened the Sweetheart Tea Room in 1916, as respite for weary travelers on the Mohawk Trail who would stop in for some food, tea, and the heart-shaped maple candies the Sweetheart became known for. Its sign became a beacon on Route 2 for those headed to Shelburne Falls, and its hospitality beckoned tourists and locals alike for decades. After a succession of owners, the Sweetheart closed its doors many years ago… but the iconic building and sign still bring back fond memories for those who pass it by. Producer Tony Dunne and videographer Marc Rhinehart bring us the story of the Sweetheart Tea Room – gone, but not forgotten.